Please enable javascript in your browser to view this site!

Congratulations to the 2018 Winner

of the Frederick J. Streng Award for Excellence in Buddhist-Christian Studies



- Massimo A. Rondolino -

Cross-Cultural Perspectives on Hagiographical Strategies: A Comparative Study of the Standard Lives of St. Francis and Milarepa

 (Routledge, 2017)

This book examines the potential of conducting studies in comparative hagiology, through parallel literary and historical analyses of spiritual life writings pertaining to distinct religious contexts. In particular, it focuses on a comparative analysis of the early sources on the medieval Christian Saint Francis of Assisi (1182-1226) and the Tibetan Buddhist Milarepa (c. 1052-1135), up to and including the so-called ‘standard versions’ of their life stories written by Bonaventure of Bagnoregio (1221-1274) and Tsangnyön Heruka (1452-1507) respectively.

The book thus demonstrates how in the social and religious contexts of both 1200s Italy and 1400s Tibet, narratives of the lives, deeds and teachings of two individuals recognized as spiritual champions were seen as the most effective means to promote spiritual, doctrinal and political agendas. Therefore, as well being highly relevant to those studying hagiographical sources, this book will be of interest to scholars working across the fields of religion and the comparative study of religious phenomena, as well as history and literature in the pre-modern period.


Nominations now Open for the

2019 Frederick J. Streng Award for Excellence

in Buddhist-Christian Studies


The Society for Buddhist-Christian Studies is now receiving nominations for the 2019 Frederick Streng Book Award for Excellence in Buddhist-Christian Studies. Nominations must be received by March 1, 2019. The winner will be announced at the annual meeting of the Society.
The criteria for nominating and making the award are:

  1. The subject matter of the book should be inspired by and relevant to Buddhist-Christian relations, but subject matter is not narrowly limited to books on dialogue or to books that are half on Christianity and half on Buddhism.

  2. The scholarship must be original and the writing clear. The book must make an important contribution to issues relevant to the context of Buddhist-Christian dialogue.

  3. Books can be considered for nomination within five years of their publication date (i.e. the 2015 award must be for a book published in 2010 or later).

Nominations can be made by any person, using the nomination form below. Publishers of books must be willing to supply review copies to members of the committee for evaluation in order for the book to be considered.

make a nomination for 2019

Author *
In the space provided here, please explain why the nominated title is deserving of the Frederick J. Streng Award for Excellence in Buddhist-Christian Studies
Person making the nomination *
Person making the nomination
Address *
Phone *